Wednesday, August 18, 2010

W.A.R. (We Are Renegades)

Late last night, I spotted the tracklist for Pharoahe Monch's upcoming Duck Down Records Release, W.A.R. Here it is:

1. Intro – Skit (feat. Idris Elba)
2. Evolve
3. W.A.R. (feat. Vernon Reid)
4. Clap
5. The Hitman
6. Black Hand Side (feat. Styles P & Phonte (of Little Brother))
7. Let My People Go
8. Shine (feat. Mela Machinko)
9. Haile Selassie Karate (feat. Denaun Porter)
10. Assassins (feat. Jean Grae & Royce Da 5’9”)
11. Illusions
12. Mama’s Boy
13. Still Standing (feat. Jill Scott)

Unfortunately, no word on production credits for each track just yet. For those that don't know though, Monch produced his biggest hit, "Simon Says", himself.

Now, it's not as if Monch needs any help from guest MCs to hold down his album. He's unquestionably one of the greatest lyricists ever. But, I gotta say I'm pretty excited about some of these features. Phonte & SP; Jean Grae & Royce. Not sure why Stringer Bell is on there, but we'll see what happens. I'm guessing it'll be similar to the American Gangster intro. But, Elba was in that movie, so it made more sense. I know he's trying to break into Hip Hop now, but having your rhymes compared to Pharoahe Monch isn't the best way to garner attention.

Take a look at the video below where Monch talks Hip Hop with D-Nice, including the making of "Oh No", and rhyming about his problems with Asthma on this new album.

No comments:

Post a Comment